New Adventures

16 Jun

After returning back from Ghana at the end of December, the first couple of months of this year were a bit rough for me.  I had promised myself that I wouldn’t make any brash life decisions until I’d been back for a while, but I couldn’t seem to settle back in.  My challenge to myself to ‘never cease exploring’ kept ringing in my ears, but I could feel my focus narrowing as I settled back into my old routines.

Although I think it would have been possible to expand my focus and continue exploring without leaving my home, after a few months I finally decided it was time to make a change.  I looked at several options and chose Engineers Without Borders because I believe in the work the organization is doing, the people in the organization I’ve worked with so far have been exceptional without exception, and the values of the organization align almost perfectly with my own.

image CN Tower

Despite all of this, it was not an easy decision to leave my friends and family in Vancouver behind to join EWB’s national office in Toronto.  I’m anticipating it also won’t be easy  to switch career paths after 14 years in consulting engineering and to adjust to a new city and a significantly different level of compensation.

Above all else, it is the support of my parents that has given me the strength and freedom to make this change and take on this new adventure.   Thank you Mom and Dad – you’re the best!

One Response to “New Adventures”

  1. Saul Brown June 16, 2011 at 1:35 am #

    Good luck Mark, keep up the great work you’re doing! There are lots of great things happening in Toronto, I’m sure you’ll be running there in no time.

Leave a Reply

