Never Cease Exploring

20 Dec

DSC04048 DSC04060

I just arrived back in Vancouver last night after having spent two days in Toronto for final EWB debriefing meetings.  This will be my last post for a while and I’d like to take this opportunity to share a final personal observation and holiday wish. 

Hopefully at some point over the past few months you noticed this TS Eliot quote that I put up on the sidebar of my blog when I was preparing to leave for Ghana in the summer:

We must never cease exploring and the end of our exploration will be to return home and see it for the first time.

With the travelling I have done over the years, I have noticed that my curiosity and openness expands while I am away and contracts when I slip back into the routines of my daily life.

Whatever you are truly passionate about, whether it be international development, the environment, parenting, music, and/or anything  else, my wish for all of us in the New Year is that we each explore the opportunities that are all around us right here at home in order to make the most out of each and every day.

6 Responses to “Never Cease Exploring”

  1. Scott Andrews December 20, 2010 at 2:38 am #

    Mark – you and your blog are _amazing_. Looking forward to hearing some stories in person.

    Happy Holidays my friend!

    Scott

  2. Steffanie December 20, 2010 at 3:40 am #

    Wow Mark, really well said!!! We’ve missed you and are looking forward to getting together soon!
    Love,
    Steffanie & Chris

  3. Monica December 20, 2010 at 6:53 am #

    Welcome back Mark, well said, well done, well lived. I am sure “home” has a new meaning. You have inspired me….Monica

  4. Lynn December 20, 2010 at 6:24 pm #

    Seeing home with new eyes is an amazing gift and I hope to see You soon!
    Happy Holidays,
    Lynn

  5. Heather Good December 24, 2010 at 12:34 am #

    Thank you for the inspiration, Mark. THe video cam of the main street tour was a highlight! Enjoy, in joy.. everything.

  6. erinantcliffe June 16, 2011 at 6:30 am #

    Proud of you Mark, and your commitment to seeing new things every day. Can’t wait to work with you again!

Leave a Reply

