Audio Post – Agricultural Programs, Moral Dilemma, and the end of Ramadan

12 Sep
6 Responses to “Audio Post – Agricultural Programs, Moral Dilemma, and the end of Ramadan”

  1. mikeklassen September 13, 2010 at 2:35 am #

    Hey Mark – great post again. I really enjoy the audio posts… such a refreshing change of medium!

    One quick question: you mentioned that the low literacy rate meant that the demonstration plots weren’t going to help many people learn – can you explain this a bit? I thought that the idea behind demo plots is that you can visually see what’s happening (during planting, prep and growing) – what things would farmers need to read to learn effectively?

    Challenging dilemma your present – was I correct in hearing that nurses at the local clinic had referred your friend’s daughter to a medicine man? I would be fascinated to hear more about his (and his daughter’s) perspectives on traditional medicine and modern medicine – do they believe in both?

    Keep up the great work, and thanks for blogging so persistently.

    • markwjabbott September 15, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

      Hi Mike. Wow – great questions! The comment about the demonstration plot only benefiting literate farmers was a direct quote from my Director. I didn’t question it at the time, but I will follow up with him when I get back to Kpandai (I’m in Tamale for a few more days). I will also follow up regarding your local medicine man question too. Thanks. Mark

  2. Sean Irg September 13, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

    Hey man,

    I listened to your audio note. I can hear how deep this experience is affecting you and you affecting it.

    http://www.texascooking.com/features/may98corntortillas.htm

    However, I expect the refinement of the maize has a lot to do with how the tortillas come out.

    I’ve done this – they come out good. Another good thing to make are pupusas.

    Sean

    • markwjabbott September 15, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

      Thanks Sean. As you know, I never cook at home, but I may try to make some corn totillas while I’m here. If it works out, maybe I’ll start the Crazy Obruni Breakfast Burrito stand on he main road!

  3. Monica September 14, 2010 at 5:25 am #

    Mark, enjoyed your audio post and the details on block farming and the programs to help subsistence farmers have more success with local crops. I hope you had a chance to enjoy the hospitality that follows the end of Ramadan. Good luck with the presentation at Tamale.

  4. Colleen September 16, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    I’m really enjoying listening to your updates and am looking forward to the next one.

Leave a Reply

