Welcome to Kpandai

29 Aug

DSC00992

The town of Kpandai consists of about 2km of paved road with a series of dirt roads coming off of it.  This panorama shot is from the north side of town and show one of the major perpendicular dirt roads running east and the main paved city road to the south.

DSC00981

In the picture above I am doing my laundry in front of the room I am staying in.  When I first came to town on Tuesday night, all three of the small guest houses in town were booked up, so they put me up in the District Assembly barracks in the room on the left. 

DSC00982

Although it probably looks basic, both the inside and outside of my place are definitely at the high end of accommodations in Kpandai. My plan is to stay here for a couple of weeks and then try to find a family to stay with.

DSC00996

And here’s the office.  I work on the green side of the building with the Ministry of Food and Agriculture (MoFA).  The office consists of two small rooms for a staff of 15 people, although most of the time almost everyone is out in the field.  The other half of the building is the Water and Sanitation department office.

DSC01033

Here’s a shot of midway along the paved main road taken near my office.  The man in the picture is Mr. Kwame.  He is one of the Agriculture Extension Agents who works in my office and I’m going to his place for dinner later tonight.

DSC01000 

Here I am last night eating at one of the finer restaurants in town.  I’m not sure what this particular dish was called.  It consisted of rice, some noodles, spices, and a few chunks of what I think was goat.  The most popular dish in the town is a yam based dish called  Fufu.  More on it later.

DSC01002

Here is the town gas station. 

DSC01009

And one of the two health clinics.  This one is church one while the other one is run by the District.  The Kpandai district of over 100,000 people does not have a hospital or doctor.  Much more on this later…

DSC01012

Here a couple of guys are building a new house.  Everything is built primarily out of mud bricks, but in town they use some concrete (I haven’t seen any rebar), plaster for the finished walls, and corrugated tin roofs.  The vast majority of the residences in the district, however, are small round mud huts with thatched roofs.  I will post pictures of village life soon.

DSC01032

Today was market day in Kpandai (it comes every 6 days), which is the best opportunity for miles around for people to buy and sell their crops and goods.  I picked up a bottom and top bed sheet (6GHC ~ $4 for used sheets).

DSC01004

And finally here is a view from the other end (south) of the paved main road looking north.

3 Responses to “Welcome to Kpandai”

  1. Cat August 31, 2010 at 8:47 am #

    Great photos, Mark, especially the wide shots. Now we can picture where you are. Take care.

  2. Gary Watson September 1, 2010 at 1:41 am #

    Great photos Mark. I hope there are no drinkwater wells near the gas station. Looks like I have some work to do there!

  3. Sarah Legg September 3, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

    Awww it feels like home looking at these pictures!

    You captured it well.

    How is staying at the District Assembly? Getting lonely? Sounds like you’re filling that by visiting people for dinner, sounds like fun!

Leave a Reply

