It’s good to be here, but…

2 Aug

The last couple of months have been truly amazing for me.  My sister got married and she is happier than I have ever seen her.  Fair Trade Vancouver successfully helped Vancouver become the first major city in Canada to achieve Fair Trade Town status and the Fair Trade Pavilion at the EPIC Sustainability show was a huge success.  At Fransen we are making great strides as a unified management team towards shared goals.  And the incredible response to my sponsor-a-day program has been truly overwhelming.   

In the lead-up to my departure today,  I’ve also had a chance to connect with most of my friends and family, which has reminded me of how amazingly lucky I am.  This was capped off on Friday evening when Colette and I went up the Indian Arm with my good friends Chris and Steffanie to celebrate Chris’ birthday on the deck of their nearly finished cabin.  Sitting in lawn chairs watching the sun set over the mountains, I felt the stress of getting ready for my trip diffuse and dissipate with the last rays of light.

 DSC00411

Colette had brought a bottle of Granville Island beer so that she could get a shot of a ‘’truly BC moment” for a friend who was trying to kick-start a photo contest she is running for them.  We batted a few ideas back and forth and decided to get a picture of me jumping off the dock and we managed to capture this shot on the first take.

It was afterwards looking at the picture that I noticed the tag line on the Granville Island beer bottle – “It’s Good To Be Here.”  I couldn’t agree more and a small part of me wonders what it is inside of me that is motivating me to leave this place  at this moment.  The greater part of me, however, is excited to be diving into a new adventure (pun totally intended).

Thanks again to everyone for your support!

Mark

2 Responses to “It’s good to be here, but…”

  1. Ayshe August 5, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    Hi Mark, I am glad you were able to drop by and see T for a couple days. It sounds like you had a fun going away party Saturday. How is it that the hammock didn’t break with so many people on it?

  2. Lynn August 15, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

    Have an awesome day Mark!

Leave a Reply

